Malcolm Brett

Director, Broadcast and Media Innovations division


Malcolm Brett is the Director of Broadcasting and Media Innovations - University of Wisconsin – Extension (UWEX) and General Manager of WHA-TV, the flagship station of Wisconsin Public Television.  He oversees the University’s public radio and public television stations which are part of Wisconsin Public Television (WPT) and Wisconsin Public Radio (WPR). 

He also oversees UWEX’s distance learning facilities and Instructional Communications Systems.  Mr. Brett has also served as the Director of Television for Wisconsin Public Television.  In that role he oversaw the network’s University and State licensee stations. 

During the past 33 years at Wisconsin Public Broadcasting, Mr. Brett has served as WPT’s  director of development as well as production manager for the national show "The New Tech Times."  His extensive knowledge of public television includes development, production management, strategic and capital planning, budgeting, government relations and community engagement. 

He was named PBS Development Professional of the Year in 1998 for his system-wide contributions and for his leadership of WPT’s development program. Mr. Brett led WPT's digital conversion, and has helped guide, design, fund or implement several of WPT's national public television models including - Portal Wisconsin, the National Center for Community Engagement, Wisconsin Hometown Stories and extensive Veterans programming including the national project; Veterans Coming Home.  Brett led the development of University Place, built out multicast and Internet streaming services for delivery of programming featuring University research and community based services on-air and online.  Mr. Brett served on Wisconsin’s Sesquicentennial Celebration Commission.  He established and chaired the Wisconsin Cultural Coalition and led its support for Portal Wisconsin.  Mr. Brett served on and chaired the Board of American Public Television, the Board of the Wisconsin Center for Investigative Journalism, the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters, the Affinity Group coalition, the Board of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association and the University Licensee Association.  He recently completed a term on the PBS board and was professional vice-chair of the Board.  He was recently recognized as the inaugural recipient of the “Pillar of Public Service Award” from America’s Public Television Stations.