2017 Livestock Judging Results from Area Animal Science Days


(Madison) The 2017 Area Animal Science Days were held in Wood, Trempealeau and Dodge counties.  Youth involved judged breeding and market classes of each of the following species, swine, beef, sheep and in some locations meat goats.  Youth also answered a set of species questions and seniors judges gave oral reasons on selected classes. 

Congratulations again to all participants in this year’s regional contests.  The top three Senior and Junior Teams from each site earned the opportunity to compete at the State 4-H Livestock Judging Contest that was held on Monday, July 24th at the Lodi Fairgrounds. 

The contest site has pictures and scores from the event.  http://fyi.uwex.edu/youthlivestock/programs/area-animal-science-days/ 

This program is sponsored by the WI 4-H Foundation, UW Animal Sciences Departments, and WI 4-H Youth Development.


Wood County: Wednesday, June 21

Seniors:  1st –Ceara Cull, Waukesha ; 2nd  - Ambrose Wiering, Manitowoc; 3rd –Clayton Walsh, Juneau; 4th –Vanessa Roberts, Manitowoc; 5th – Katya Konopacki, Manitowoc; 6th Megan Greif, Manitowoc; 7th-Alek Konopacki, Manitowoc; 8th-Hannah Tremaine, Waukesha,  9th- Mason Roscizewski, Waukesha; 10th-Daniel Walsh, Juneau

Senior Reasons Individuals:  1st –Ambrose Wiering, Manitowoc

Senior Overall Team:  1st –Manitowoc  2nd -Waukesha

Senior Reasons Team:  Manitowoc

Juniors:  1st – Trenna Cherney, Juneau; 2nd – Sydney Cherney, Juneau 3rd – Gabriel Wohlrab, Juneau; 4th – Cody Vogel, Manitowoc 5th – Taylor Maroszek, Outagamie; 6th-Valeria Rutter, Outagamie; 7th- Dominic Sheets, Manitowoc; 8th – Kiley Smith, Manitowoc; 9th-Ty Sheets, Manitowoc; 10th-Aren Engelbrecht, Manitowoc

Junior Overall Team:  1st – Juneau; 2nd – Manitowoc


Trempealau County: Thursday, June 22

Seniors:  1st – Blake Johnson, Trempealeau ; 2nd – Dillin Meier, Grant; 3rd –Erika Kinnard, Dunn; 4th –Rachel Moseley, Jackson; 5th – Nicole Welke, Eau Claire; 6th; Danielle Zukowski, Dunn; 7th-Lindsey Augustine, Pierce; 8th-Jack Edwards, Dunn; 9th-Kim Hudson, Pierce; 10th-Jessica Anderson, Grant.

Senior Reasons Individuals:  1st – Blake Johnson, Trempealeau

Senior Overall Team:  1st –Dunn, 2nd - Pierce

Senior Reasons Team:  1st –Dunn

Juniors 1st – Gavin Esser, Grant; 2nd – Jessica Patterson, Grant; 3rd – Avery Crooks, Grant 4th –Chad Achenbach, Crawford; 5th – Emily Zukowski- Dunn; 6th- Trent Laufenberg, Jackson; 7th-Arenden Jentz, Grant, 8th- Cara Capatske, Pierce, 9th- Austin Laufenberg, Jackson, 10th-Madelyn Thornton, Grant

Junior Overall Team:  1st –Grant; 2nd –Crawford


Dodge County: Friday, June 23

Seniors:  Tied for 1st – Brandon Springer, Iowa, Tied for 1st: Caden Nicolaus, Sheboygan,  2nd – Morgan Vondra, Iowa, 3rd – Martina Steffes, Iowa; 4th Anna Kitzerow, Sheboygan;  5th – Colton Klecker, Jefferson,  6th- Danielle Chwala, Jefferson; 7th-Blaine Springer, Iowa; 8th –Alexis Schultz, Jefferson; 9th –Kailen Smerchek, Marathon, 10th- Issac Kohlman, Sheboygan

Senior Reasons Individuals:  1st –Kailen Smerchek, Marathon County

Senior Overall Team:  1st – Iowa County; 2nd – Sheboygan County

Senior Reasons Team:  Marathon County

Juniors:  1st – Emma Steffes, Iowa; 2nd – Samantha Rake, Columbia, 3rd – Luke Schubert, Iowa; 4th – Cameron Patterson, Iowa 5th – Cora Kohlman, Sheboygan; 6th Ellie Robinson, Iowa; 7th, Mae Sann, Marathon, 8thKaycee Lindner, Iowa, 9th Alex Falkowski, Marathon; 10th Skylar Garthwaite, Iowa

Junior Overall Team:  1st – Iowa; 2nd –Columbia


For contest pictures go to the following link:

https://plus.google.com/b/109852629348876173407/+WisconsinYouthLivestockProgram/posts/UoaF8WsioF3 Directions:  click on the album you want, click on the picture you want, click on more on top of the picture, click on download to download the picture to your computer.  Photos should have titles to help with matching up names/teams with photos.



Junior Individuals

Youth 1st – 5th Front Row L to R:  Trenna Cherney, Sydney Cherney, Gabriel Wohlrab, Cody Vogel, Taylor Moroszek

Youth 6th – 10th Back Row L to R: Valerie Rutter, Dominick Sheets, Kiley Smith, Ty Sheets, Aren Engelbrecht

Juniors 1st place Team –Juneau–

Front Row L to R: Gabriel Wohlrab, Sydnie Cherney, Ethan Lulich, Trenna Cherney

Senior Individuals

Youth 1st – 5th Front Row L to R: Ceara Cull, Ambrose Wiering, Clayton Walsh, Vanessa Roberts, Katya Konopacki

Youth 6th – 10th Back Row:Megan Greif, Alek Konopacki, Hannah Tremiane, Mason Roscizewski, Daniel Walsh

Seniors 1st place Manitowoc Co.  

L to R:  Katya Konopacki, Vanessa Roberts, Megan Greif, Ambrose Wiering



Youth 1st – 5th Front Row Left to Right:  Gavin Esser, Jessica Patterson, Avery Croosk, Chad Achenbach, Emily Zukowski

Youth 6th – 10th Back Row Left to Right: Trent Laufenberg, Arendan Jentz, Cora Capatske, Austin Laufenberg, Madelyn Thornton

Junior Top Team: Grant

Left to Right: Arendan Jentz, Avery Crooks, Jessica Patterson, Gavin Esser

Senior Individuals

Youth 1st – 5th Front Row Left to Right: Blake Johnson, Dillin Meier, Erika Kinnard, Rachel Moseley, Nicole Welke

Youth 6th – 10th Back Row Left to Right:  Danielle Zukowski, Lindsey Augustine, Jack Edwards, Kim Hudson, Jessica Anderson

Senior Top Team: Dunn

1st Left to right: Juneau: Danielle Zukowski, Erika Kinnard, Jack Edwards, Addie Grossbier



Junior Individuals

Youth 1st – 5th Back Row Left to Right:  Back Row Left to Right: Emma Steffes, Samantha Rake, Luke Schubert, Cameron Patterson, Cora Kohlman

Youth 6th – 10th Front Row Left to Right: Front Row Left to Right:  Ellie Robinson, Mae Sann, Kaycee Lindner (missing) Alex Falkowski, Skylar Garthwaite

Junior Top Team: Iowa

Left to Right:  Luke Schubert, Ellie Robinson, Cameron Patterson, Emma Steffes

Senior Individuals

Youth 1st – 5th Back Row Left to Right:  Brandon Springer, Caden Nicolaus, Morgan Vondra, Martina Steffes, Anna Kitzerow, Colton Clecker

Youth 6th – 10th Front Row Left to Right: Danielle Chwala, Blaine Springer, Alexis Schultz, Kailen Smerchek, Issac Kohlman


Senior Top Team Iowa County:

1st Left to right: Blaine Springer, Morgan Vondra, Martina Steffes, Brandon Springer, Bree Gaffney