Academic Staff Council honors staffers at 2017 awards reception

MADISON -- The UW-Extension Academic Staff Council held its 2017 Awards of Excellence Reception from 10:30 a.m. to noon Oct. 18 at the Pyle Center.


The Awards for Excellence recognize excellence in professional services that not only furthers the work of the nominee’s division but also exemplifies the Wisconsin Idea:

This year's winners:


  • Angela Meidl, Information Technology, Division for Continuing Education, Outreach and E-Learning 


  • Kristin Korevec, Wisconsin Public Television, Development Department, Division of Broadcasting and Media Innovations

This year, one of the UW System Board of Regents Academic Staff Awards for Excellence was given to a UW-Extension staff effort. This Regents award is the highest recognition bestowed on academic staff.


  • UW HELP Team and Mary Vilmo, Director, Division of Continuing Education, Outreach and E-Learning

Finally, three staffers were recognized for earning the title of Distinguished Academic Staff:


  • Ann Wilkens, Senior Special Librarian, Media Library Manager, Wisconsin Public Television, Division of Broadcasting & Media Innovations 


  • Jeffrey Lewis, State Specialist for Underrepresented Communities, 4-H Youth Development & Program Development and Evaluation, Division of Cooperative Extension


  • Shamane Mills, Senior Broadcasting Specialist, Wisconsin Public Radio, Division of Broadcasting & Media Innovations